Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last month, I ran across a BookPage blurb about Joshilyn Jackson‘s new novel Never Have I Ever. I was surprised, but happy to see that she had finally jumped into the suspense genre.  I, of course, scooped up a copy and enjoyed it immensely.  Besides the twisty action going on regarding Amy Whey’s mysterious past, diving surfaces as a type of mind-clearing lifeline for the character.

It reminded me so much of poet Adrienne Rich’s collection,  Diving Into the Wreck that I dug out my well-worn copy.  You can read the book’s titular poem over on Poets.org. (I’ll wait for you) .

See what I mean? So gorgeous! Perfect pair.

Then a short while later, I found another fun surprise: Dr. Richard Smith‘s super sleek The World Beneath: The Life and Times of Unknown Sea Creatures and Coral Reefs, which is a frickin’ eye-gasm of deep ocean photography.  Seriously, do yourself a favor and buy this book, or at the very least follow Smith’s Insta like right damn now.