Tags

, , , , , , ,

Poldark

READING

Lately, I’ve been obsessed with the Poldark novels.  Yes, I was first hooked by the handsome, curly-haired Irishman (Aidan Turner of BEING HUMAN, THE HOBBIT and the Dante Gabriel Rossetti mini-series DESPERATE ROMANTICS) who stars in the latest television remake, but I quickly came to appreciate the quality of Winston Graham‘s writing.  I have just finished #7 in the novel series.  I had the old Fontana paperback versions (not the reprints pictured above), and all of these were gripping and dense with a refreshing, good-natured Cornishness and enough soap opera-ish drama to keep one’s pulse permanently elevated.  My copies also had some strange and yet charming messages tucked into the front matter about the 70’s gas crisis and some pencilled-in notes about grocery ads.

I am told that books #8-10 are not nearly as well done, but that #11& esp. #12 make it well worth the slog.  I’m sure that I will not find the details of French politics as off-putting as some who gave book #8 just disparaging marks.  I also quite like the idea of the introduction of a new bad boy who is after Ross’ cherished daughter.

I have also just picked up the Morland Dynasty series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, which is another set of novels known for its rich English history. I have started right in the middle of the arc with the French Revolution title.  This was recommended to me by another Poldark fan, so I expect to enjoy it as much as the W. Graham books.

WRITING

This has largely been confined to writing math problems for college texts the past few months, and an occasional foray into the historical novel I have been working on for quite some time.  I have also been up to some soft selling work in promotion of my mother’s new release, A TALENT FOR MURDER, a southern cozy mystery.  Nothing new in the poetry world, beyond submitting sporadically to a few journals that are reading in summer.

ART

Experimenting with the larger 20x24in canvas for portraits. Not too thrilled with the results so far.