Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Skipped on over to the alma mater’s literary publication Bayou Magazine for the blog posting on “What to Look Forward to For National Short Story Month,” and low and behold there was a link to an old interview with Michael Knight, where he discusses, among other things, what makes a good story.

And since I just happened to have interviewed him as well–way back when at another alma mater (when I was still using my first name in bylines)–I thought I’d put up the clip.  This is from a 1997 issue of the student newspaper Hollins Columns, where Knight speaks about his first-ever college-level teaching experience and his views on single-sex education:

Michael Knight

Two New Faces Join English Department

You’ll remember from last week that I recommended “Gerald’s Monkey,” a short story from his collection Dogfight: And Other Stories as part of the Deal Me In (Short Story) Reading Challenge.  He has also published several novels, but I like his short fiction best.  If you enjoy Dogfight, then look for his second collection Goodnight, Nobody, and let me know what you think.  Opinions welcome!

 

