Tags

, , , ,

When the neighbor threw out a moldy, broken lawn ornament, I couldn’t resist making it my weekend project. And since it is National Poetry Month, I decided to give this baby a poetic spin.

PTDC0080

The BEFORE (post cleaning/patching)

Bleach + Spackle= a clean slate.

She’s about the size of a basketball.

 

 

 

 

Not sure why I didn’t take more pictures DURING the process.

PTDC0082 - Copy

Getting coated with sealant

This is after acrylic paint and hand-lettering.

The text is from the opening of Mary Oliver’s “Blossoms”:

In April
the ponds open
like black blossoms,
the moon
swims in every one;
there’s fire
everywhere: frogs shouting
their desire,

Read full poem here

Also affixed a silk flower with Gorilla Glue and then sealed the whole thing with clear coat.

 

PTDC0089

Poetria, the lawn frog

Here she is hanging out on the back lawn.

I’m hoping she is a good muse.

